Skip to content

R.E.M. Post

September 24, 2011

R.E.M. broke up just months after I discovered them for myself.  I am still upset over it even though it happened Wednesday.  I haven’t even gotten though all their albums yet.  I’ll never get to see them in concert.  That’s a hard pill that must be swallowed.  It tastes bitter at the start, but leaves a sweet aftertaste.

All the guys are still alive and will probably continue to be active in music (probably especially Peter Buck).  There were no bitter arguments or lawsuits that broke up my favorite band.  They had been at this music business for 31 years, which is VERY admirable and leaves us current and future fans plenty of music to hear and appreciate.

I’ll never forget when I first heard R.E.M. (that I know of) or when I really fell in love with them during Spring Break of this year.  Other college students (most of them, probably) went to some beach, drank and partied during their Spring Breaks, but I spent mine sitting on my couch, listening to music.  Music I would devour, love and want to share.  It was one of, or maybe the best Spring Break of my recent memory.

This writing was not at all intended to be about R.E.M., but it is.  My mind has been thinking about this since I heard about it, and this was an uncontrollable attempt by my brain to write out my feelings, to make sense of this, or at least allow myself to accept this.  I feel crazy for tearing up and actually shedding tears as I write this, but I know I’m not the only one who feels like I do.

I honestly fell in love with R.E.M.  They became my favorite band so fast.  I still love them.  I still consider them my favorite band.  They are four guys from Athens, Georgia, who just so happen to not want to be called R.E.M. anymore.  Again, I am very thankful that no deaths, arguments or lawsuits broke them up.  If it were an argument, it would’ve only divided a global community of fans.  A lawsuit would’ve probably done the same thing.  Anything else would’ve been all the more upsetting.

So thank you to Michael Stipe, Bill Berry, Peter Buck and Mike Mills for all the wonderful music, quotes, inspiration, great photographs and art you placed on this planet as R.E.M.  You are loved and will be loved more than you’ll probably ever know.  Thanks again.  I’ve swallowed the pill.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

