Skip to content

The drinking of the tea.

May 12, 2012

A few weeks ago, on the 20 Something Bloggers chat, I was going on about my love for tea.  It is no secret to those who know me, and anyone I feel like telling, that I love tea (particularly of the black variety).  Hayden, at Drinkable Review, recommended Adagio Teas.  I checked out their site and placed an order.

I’ve been wanting to sample some white tea lately, so I purchased a sample bag of the Silver Needle white tea.  Then I bought a sample bag of the Irish Breakfast black tea, because I knew I’d at least be guaranteed to like one of them.  Right?

The Silver Needle, which I didn’t get a picture of, was very mild, in every aspect.  It is even more mild than green tea, I think.  The leaves are a pleasant silver-green, and when brewed, the liquid is a really pale yellowish color.  I added a bit of sugar to my cup, and while it is a very nice tea, I didn’t love it.  I think this is due to my being raised on darker, stronger black tea.

Image

I got a picture of my black tea as it was steeping, see?

I’m quite sure I don’t need to say that I preferred the Irish Breakfast.  The leaves were dark and brewed the deep amber, reddish liquid I’m used to.  I added cream and sugar to this cup.  I liked this tea, but it’s got a slight floral taste (not sure how else to describe it) that I’m not sure I like too well.

I do think I’ll be purchasing from Adagio Teas again, though.  I’ll probably try a fruity and another black variety next.

-Cecilia.

P.S. It should be blatantly obvious that I was not paid to review any of this, but here’s the disclaimer anyway.  I wasn’t paid by any organization, company or person mentioned in this post to review these products.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2012 10:05 pm

    I’d just like to say that, apropos, that’s a pretty cool-looking cup.

    • May 12, 2012 10:08 pm

      It is a really cool mug. It came with that little infuser basket thing, and it has a little lid that fits on it to keep your tea warm. 🙂

  2. Hayden Fennell permalink
    May 25, 2012 11:28 am

    Thanks for the mention.

    I really want to try Adagio’s Earl Grey Lavender tea.

    Also, if you ever want to try a really good green tea, keep an eye out for Temple of Heaven Special Gunpowder Green. It can often be found in Asian markets.

    http://www.drinkablereview.com/2012/03/temple-of-heaven-gunpowder-green-tea.html

  3. July 16, 2012 9:09 am

    Have you tried Castleton?http://www.goodricke.com/brands.php
    I prefer Darjeeling unless I am looking for something stronger when i am tired.

Leave a Reply

